Our Founders: Julia Bishop, Alfa Lloyd, Mabelle Minton, Anna Keen, Anne Simmons, and Mary Collins.

In the fall of 1902, Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, opened its doors to female students 
with the induction of a new president, Dr. Guy Potter Benton. Six of those young women - 
Julia Lawrence Bishop, Anne Dial Simmons, Mary Jane Collins, Mabelle May Minton, 
Anna Keen, and Alfa Lloyd Hayes - came together to organize a social organization of 
their own. On September 24, 1902, the six women chose to name their sorority Alpha
 of Delta Zeta and their colors to be old rose and green. The Delta Zeta sorority was
 officially incorporated on October 24, 1902.

Delta Zeta has continued to prosper throughout the years with over 165 chapters. Delta Zeta has now grown into the second largest national sorority and even has collegiate chapters in Canada, making it the largest international sorority! Illinois State University is home to the Lambda Rho chapter of Delta Zeta.  Our chapter continues to provide opportunities for service, sisterhood, 
scholastic achievement, and leadership development to women at Illinois State University. Today, Delta Zeta has over 207,000 alumnae and collegiate members in the United States and Canada.  Delta Zeta. Delta Zeta is the largest international sorority, and the second largest sorority nationally.

FLOWER: Killarney Rose

MASCOT: Turtle

GEM: Diamond